• Hello and welcome to GirlsForum.com, an online community for girls to talk about anything: fashion, beauty tips, or advice! We'd love to have you as part of our community so why not sign up today? It's free!

Satin Blouses And My Boss!

Laura-36

Hi all,
I just wanted some impartial and anonymous advice on something.

I’ve been working at a company for about 4 months now and I’ve recently started wearing satin blouses to work. I’ve always liked them but never thought them to be fashionable however my new job is in a smart office so I bought quite a few in bulk - blue, red, silver and green.

Each time I wear them for work I get compliments, from colleagues, my mum and my boyfriend.

I had a review last week and my boss told me I need to tone down my work outfits. I was a bit upset because I thought they looked really smart! She said satin isn’t appropriate in the office. But id seen others wearing satin and silk blouses and no one ever said anything.

This morning, my boss came in wearing a leather pencil skirt and bright purple satin blouse!!! She’s been getting compliments all day - and to be fair she looks great.

What do I do? Do I say something to her? Or next week just ignore her and carry on wearing what I want! I’d prefer i didn’t have to go and buy loads of new work shirts. Advice needed please.

Thank you!
Laura x

Rhonda333

Staff member
Keep wearing the satin and pair it with a bullet bra from Secrets in Lace. Cinch the waist with a belt and believe me, you will get noticed.

Last edited:
She's still your boss. I think you just need to tone it down a little, but you still have to continue wearing it. As long as, it still looks smart and decent. Why not? :)

Rhonda333

Staff member