• Hello and welcome to GirlsForum.com, an online community for girls to talk about anything: fashion, beauty tips, or advice! We'd love to have you as part of our community so why not sign up today? It's free!

Comic artist rant

Flowergurl

Heyy!! This is not a QnA or anything, just want to rant for a bit, because my low self esteem had been eating me from inside.
I'm a comic artist, currently in webtoon, focusing of merch selling for the characters I made, just like what sanrio did. My comics are available in webtoon and instagram, also twitter. Tho, I won't say the title for privacy reason. We also make animations on youtube, and sell our character's plushies!
I worked together with a partner for this project. We each has a persona of ourself as a cute animal character.
My partner's character didn't get that much attention at first when we started working on this project together, the merchandise of her persona didn't sell out well so I decided that, "hey!! I'm a good comic artist, I'll makesure everyone will loves your character too!!". Soon, her characters get all the love from our fans, but on the other hand my character gets a lot of hate, lots of it.
I asked my partner, to please let me rant to our fans about leaving hate comments. I saw lots of comic artist did that, to tell their readers that they don't like such treatment
But my partner said no, I do have to agree at her choice. We started getting a lot of followers, readers, and fans.
It's just that we need to act professional and pretend that we're not depressed in front of our fans, while we're totally having problem. Because all the readers admire us, they don't want the artist that they admire to be a pity-party lover. So, right now, I kept with the comics, merch, while all the loves are pointed to my partner, and I got all the hates. I just have to pretend it never happened, and be a good public figure for everyone.